There are several state and Burlington County races set for election day.: state assembly, county sheriff and county freeholder. Candidate biographics are below.

State assembly

Four candidates are running for two District 7 seats on the general assembly: incumbent Herb Conaway, Kathleen Cooley, Peter H. Miller and incumbent Carol Murphy.

Herb Conaway, a Democrat, has been an assemblyman since 1998. Prior to that, he served in the United States Air Force Medical Corps. Conaway graduated from Princeton University with a BA in politics and then earned an MD from Jefferson Medical College and a JD from Rutgers School of Law. He is a physician and Bordentown native.

Kathleen Cooley, running under the True Blue Unbossed party, is a paralegal from Burlington. She attended Brookdale Community College.

Peter H. Miller is a Republican from Moorestown. He works in healthcare and has a degree in allied health management from Widener University. Miller serves on the Moorestown Planning Board.

Carol Murphy, a Democrat, has served on the assembly since 2018. She attended Camden County College, the Institute for Paralegal Studies and Kaplan University. Murphy is a Mount Laurel resident.

Burlington County sheriff

Four candidates are running for Burlington County Sheriff: Anthony Basantis, Michael Ditzel, Erik D. Johnston and Robert Shapiro.

Anthony Basantis, a Democrat, is a Burlington Township resident. He has served as an officer in the Burlington County Sheriff’s Department for nearly 15 years. Basantis earned a degree in criminal justice at Rutgers University.

Michael Ditzel currently serves as the Burlington County Undersheriff. He has been with the department since 2006. Ditzel, a Republican, also served in the United States Coast Guard.

Erik D. Johnston is a lifelong Burlington County resident. He has served as a Sheriff’s officer for over 15 years.

Robert Shapiro is running under the Protecting Burlington’s Kids party.

Burlington County freeholder

Two candidates will compete for one seat on the Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholders: Linda Hynes and incumbent Latham Tiver.

Linda Hynes, a Democrat, currently serves as the deputy mayor of Westampton Township and previously served for five years on the town’s Board of Education. She attended Burlington County College and earned a BA from Rutgers University-Camden. Hynes received a JD from the Widener School of Law, and she has been a state attorney for 20 years. She has served on the Burlington County Ethics Committee for eight years.

Latham Tiver, a Republican, has been a freeholder since 2016. He previously served on the Southampton Township Committee and as Deputy Mayor. Tiver has worked with the state Safe Routes to Schools program.

There is also one unexpired two-year freeholder term up for grabs, and two candidates are running: incumbent Daniel J. O’Connell and Lee Schneider.

Daniel J. O’Connell, a Democrat, joined the board to fill an unexpired term in 2019. He is a Delran resident, and he attended Marquette University. He previously served on the Delran Township Council for four years starting in 2014. A former locomotive fireman and engineer, O’Connell was the New Jersey State Legislative Director for the United Transportation Union.

Lee Schneider, a Republican, is a Hainesport resident. She serves on the Hainesport Township Committee. She earned a degree in public relations from Rowan University and currently works as a material analyst and sales consultant.