New Jersey Future executive director Peter Kasabach (left) presents the Smart Growth Award to Lawrence Hopewell Trail representatives left to right Mark Tolo from ETS; John Murray from Bristol-Myers Squibb; Mercer County Planner Leslie Floyd; Lawrence Township Mayor Christopher Bobbitt; Hopewell Township Mayor Kristin McLaughlin; and LHT co-presidents Becky Taylor and Eleanor Horne.

Representatives of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail and the organizations that work with it accepted a Smart Growth Award from New Jersey Future at the Newark Museum on June 5.

The group was one of seven entities that received Smart Growth awards, which “shine a well-deserved spotlight on the municipal officials, developers, contractors, architects and corporations with the courage to initiate projects and growth patterns that help strengthen New Jersey’s economic, social and environmental future,” according to New Jersey Future.

The LHT won the award for its grassroots-driven effort to provide a means of connecting to communities, businesses, and public spaces throughout the region without an automobile. The LHT aims to make bicycling and walking safe, convenient and fun, as well as offering practical transportation choices and creating multiple recreation opportunities and commuting alternatives for area residents.

New Jersey Future presented a video about the LHT at the ceremony.