The Friends of Hopewell Valley Open Space EcoWarrior contest has entered its second year. One student from each school was selected through a nomination by peers, teachers, and the community, as an EcoWarrior who is a role model for their environmentally friendly actions within the schools or the greater Hopewell community.

“I am continually impressed by the commitment of our students and thankful for the support of our community partners like FoHVOS.” said superintendent Thomas Smith. “Together, our school community is working hard to reduce our carbon footprint and improve our efficiencies and our students are leading by example. Their efforts are truly making a positive impact on our district.”

Lisa Wolff (left), FoHVOS executive director and Roxanne Klett, Hopewell Harvest Fair board president with Hopewell Valley Regional Schools EcoWarriors Miranda Luther, Lila DeJessa, Catherine Liese-Spencer, James Betar Damron, Ashley Truesdell, Phoebe Gunn, and Thomas Smith, superintendent of schools.

Recognized at the May 20th HVRSD Board of Education meeting, EcoWarrior winners were: Lila DeJessa (Bear Tavern Elementary School), Ashley Truesdell (Central High School), Miranda Luther (Toll Gate Grammar School), Phoebe Gunn (Timberlane Middle School), James Betar Damron (Stony Brook Elementary School) and Catherine Liese-Spencer (Hopewell Elementary School).

FoHVOS will plant a tree and has provided tribute certificates in honor of each of the six EcoWarrior winners. Tribute winners are also offered the opportunity to help plant their trees at the next semi- annual planting at a FoHVOS preserve this October.

“EcoWarrior is one of many initiatives of which the district has partnered with FoHVOS.” Smith said. “We are thrilled that this enduring collaboration is provide meaningful opportunities for students to interact with and appreciate nature.”