From left to right: David Caliguire, Maxwell Nye, Emily Clagett, Jonas Kaufman, Emily Zhao and Adam Strauss-Goldfarb (Jay Karandikar not pictured.)

Seven Princeton Day School students are semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Competition, the school recently announced.

The semifinalists are David Caliguire (Skillman), Emily Clagett (Yardley, Pa.), Jay Karandikar (Skillman), Jonas Kaufman (Princeton), Max Nye (Washington Crossing), Adam Straus-Goldfarb (Princeton) and Emily Zhao (Princeton Junction).

These students were among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists named in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Around 1.5 million juniors around the country who applied for the program. Princeton Day School has not had seven semifinalists since the 2008-09 school year.

The 8,300 National Merit Scholarships available are estimated to be worth more than $32 million. Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

The National Merit Scholarship winners of 2013 will be announced between April and July 2013.